Monday, May 8, 2017

Student Art Awards

On Thursday April 27th the Newcomb Art Department hosted its annual Student Art Awards ceremony in Stone Auditorium. Dr. Michael Plante, Associate Professor of Art History, presented the Art History Awards and Kevin H. Jones, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, presented the Studio Art Awards. Taylor Hochstin, recipient of the Henry Stern Prize, presented her paper, "Against the Inferiority of Interiority: Carolee Schneemann's 1975 Performance of 'Interior Scroll.'" Following the awards presentation, the celebration moved to the Carroll Gallery for the Bachelor of Fine Arts Exhibition reception featuring work by Eliza Carey, Marisa Chafetz, Lis Rossi, and Lilith Winkler-Schor.

2017 Student Art Awards 

Outstanding Art History Major Award: Coco Zhang
The Henry Stern Prize Paper: Taylor Hochstin
The Nell Pomeroy O’Brien Award in Art History: Blaze D’Amico
The Alberta “Rusty” Collier Memorial Award for 2D Art: Marisa Chafetz
The Alberta “Rusty” Collier Memorial Award for 3D Art: Lilith Winkler-Schor
The Nell Pomeroy O’Brien Award in Studio Art: Malcolm Kriegel
The Sandy Chism Award in Painting: Adhira Divagaran
The Class of 1914 Prize in Art: Eliza Carey

No comments:

Post a Comment